Creating the Cast 01

I am going to be printing with Moldlay for this casting project,  which is a plastic filament with wax like properties. Read more on my filament page!

The hopes are to pack these waxy molds in a polymer mold with sand.Heating them after curing will leave an open cavity for molten aluminum to be poured into.

FIRST PRINT

G-Code File Creator:  Slic3r for Prusa

Time:  29 minutes   Fill: 20%  Quality: Optimal (.15mm)

 

Comments: 

  • After some research I found that the webbing is produced from an adjustable setting called Retraction. I found a great tutorial on fine tuning this setting. I would venture to guess that the retraction is specific to each material, just as the the nozzle temp is

SECOND, THIRD, FOURTH….PRINT

G-Code File Creator:  Slic3r for Prusa

Time:  Average 1 hour 20, some teriminated   Fill: 20%  Quality: Optimal (.15mm)

Comments: 

  • It took a lot of fine tuning to get the heat settings right. I did not adjust speed at all, but this is something to look into.
  • My settings for temp or Moldlay are located on my Filament page using the Prusa i3 MK3.
  • The support system peeled off super easy, but I printed a second Falcon without it. I ended up with 2 sets of half Falcons which I will show how I attached on the next post.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started